Solar Decathlon 2011 Teams announced by Department of Energy

Team New Jersey Project

The Department of Energy announced the 20 teams from five countries and four continents competing in next year’s solar-power showdown in the nation’s capitol. Team New Jersey will be represented by a collaboration between Rutgers University and New Jersey Institute of Technology.

The DOE Solar Decathlon challenges collegiate teams to design, build, and operate solar-powered houses that are cost-effective, energy-efficient, and attractive. The winner of the competition is the team that best blends affordability, consumer appeal, and design excellence with optimal energy production and maximum efficiency.